Motivational Techniques

I chose the “Power of Storytelling” as a great article substantiating why it is so important to tell stories to engage students.  As indicated in the article, storytelling is a great way to start a class to facilitate a greater student focus, student-teacher connection and perhaps promote students to tell their own stories.  I believe these points will improve my instruction as, although I do some storytelling, I have not told my stories at the beginning of class which may help set the tone for the topic of the day.  This article also reminds me to encourage students to tell their own stories.

Buffo. S.  (2015, January). Power of Storytelling.  Faculty Focus. Retrieved from http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/effective-teaching-strategies/power-storytelling-college-classroom/

 

 

Leave a Reply

